The New Braunfels Chamber of Commerce is proud to announce the Youth Leadership New Braunfels Class of 2019 has been selected, with 34 students making the roster. The program will begin in September with a reception and orientation with their parents, followed by a day-long leadership and team building retreat.

The 2019 class marks the 22nd group of high school sophomores and juniors to go through the program, which has graduated more than 630 young leaders since its inception in 1997. The roster includes nine students from Canyon High School, four students from St. John Paul II Catholic High School, one student from New Braunfels Christian Academy, three students from Memorial Early College High School, and 17 students from New Braunfels High School.

The purpose of the Youth Leadership New Braunfels program is to train students in leadership techniques and community awareness so they become familiar with current issues, community resources, opportunities and other factors influencing the direction of their community’s future. The class will meet monthly beginning in October, for seven school-day sessions covering topics such as leadership skills, tourism, history, arts, government, the justice system, health care, business and economic development, and education.

The program is open to 10th and 11th grade students who have at least a “B” average at New Braunfels High School, MECHS, Canyon High School or a local private high school residing within the NBISD or Canyon High School attendance zones. More than 100 applications were submitted to the Selection Committee. All identifying information was redacted so that the applications were scored on an anonymous basis. The committee’s goal is to select a distinguished group of students who demonstrate leadership potential and are motivated, creative and interested in developing leadership skills and a sense of community.

Youth Leadership New Braunfels 2019 Class Roster:

Martin Allen III – Canyon High School

Nathan Bowen – New Braunfels High School

Jenna Buck – New Braunfels High School

Taylor Burrell – New Braunfels High School

Joseph Drastata – Canyon High School

Gion Dunbar – New Braunfels High School

Emma Falcone – Canyon High School

Kathleen Feider – John Paul II Catholic High School

Jacob Francis – New Braunfels Christian Academy

Dallas Gomez – Canyon High School

Hannah Gonzalez – New Braunfels High School

Lillian Goodbread – Canyon High School

Elliott Hagelman – New Braunfels High School

Bailee Hart – New Braunfels High School

Cameron Hill – Canyon High School

Lauren Hill – New Braunfels High School

Jackson Jernigan – New Braunfels High School

Joseph Kapavik – John Paul II Catholic High School

Emma Kirchhoff – Canyon High School

Jenna Kock – Canyon High School

Jenna Korpi – New Braunfels High School

Madison Lee – New Braunfels High School

Marivelle Levett – New Braunfels High School

Kaden Mayo – Memorial Early College High School

McKenzie McMullen – New Braunfels High School

Erika Nittinger – John Paul II Catholic High School

Jacob Scroggin – New Braunfels High School

Mia Taglia – Memorial Early College High School

Brooke Thompson – Canyon High School

Mark Trlica – New Braunfels High School

Alexandra Underberg – New Braunfels High School

Gabrielle Urteaga – John Paul II Catholic High School

Kyle Weidenfeller – Memorial Early College High School

Alexa Williams – New Braunfels High School