class-of-2018The New Braunfels Chamber of Commerce is proud to announce that the Youth Leadership New Braunfels class of 2018 has been selected, with 30 students making the roster. The program will begin in September with a reception and orientation with their parents, followed by a day-long leadership and team building retreat.

The 2018 class marks the 21st group of high school sophomores and juniors to go through the program, which has graduated more than 600 young leaders since its inception in 1997. The roster includes 10 students from Canyon High School, three students from St. John Paul II Catholic High School, one student from New Braunfels Christian Academy, two students from Memorial Early College High School, and 14 students from New Braunfels High School.

The purpose of the Youth Leadership New Braunfels program is to train students in leadership techniques and community awareness so they become familiar with current issues, community resources, opportunities and other factors influencing the direction of their community’s future. The class will meet monthly beginning in October, for seven school-day sessions covering topics such as leadership skills, tourism, history, arts, government, the justice system, health care, business and economic development, and education.

The program is open to 10th and 11th grade students who have at least a “B” average at New Braunfels High School, Canyon High School or a private high school within the NBISD or CISD attendance zones. More than 60 applications were submitted to the Selection Committee. All identifying information was redacted so that the applications were scored on an anonymous basis. The committee’s goal is to select a distinguished group of students who demonstrate leadership potential and are motivated, creative and interested in developing leadership skills and a sense of community.

Youth Leadership New Braunfels 2018 Class Roster:

Zakary Aleman – New Braunfels High School

Berkeley Barr – New Braunfels High School

Ross Bedgood – Canyon High School

Joshua Boyd – Canyon High School

Peyton Brzozowski – New Braunfels High School

Addelyn Doucet – New Braunfels Christian Academy

Chloe Edgell – John Paul II Catholic High School

Brittney Etheredge – New Braunfels High School

Alexander Farmer – Canyon High School

Cobie Guillen – New Braunfels High School

Abigail Hall – Canyon High School

Aubrey Hampton – Memorial Early College High School

Alexa Harper – John Paul II Catholic High School

Jesus Herrera – Canyon High School

Noah Lewis – Canyon High School

Jack Merritt – Canyon High School

Ashlyn Norton – New Braunfels High School

Mia Post – New Braunfels High School

Jameson Schlageter – John Paul II Catholic High School

Savannah Schwab – Canyon High School

Carlie Stratemann – New Braunfels High School

Sierra Taylor – New Braunfels High School

Josephine Tesauro – Memorial Early College High School

Garrett Thompson – New Braunfels High School

Winston Waldrip – New Braunfels High School

Dawson White – New Braunfels High School

Megan Whitman – Canyon High School

Cameron Williams – New Braunfels High School

Ellie Wipf – New Braunfels High School

Presley Wirebaugh – Canyon High School