During the monthly Chamber Board of Directors meeting on Monday, May 17, Chair of the Board Nathan Manlove awarded his third Chair of the Board Award. The Chair of the Board award is designed to honor individuals who have made a significant contribution to the community in a specific field of civic endeavor.

Wayne Peters, former Councilman and Mayor Pro Tem on the New Braunfels City Council, has been selected as a recipient of the Chamber’s Chair of the Board Award in the field of city governance for his leadership in the passage of the City Charter Amendments in the May 2021 election.

Before departing City Council, Wayne took on the task of re-writing sections of the City Charter, and city voters agreed with every single recommendation made in the first update of the charter in nearly a generation. This update will lead to better governance and efficiencies. 

For these reasons and many more, the Chamber of Commerce is honored to provide Wayne Peters with the Chair of the Board Award in the field of city governance.